MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION April 23, 2019

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was held on April 23, 2019 in the Roselle Middle School Media Center. President Cammy called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

I. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: Blythe Cammy, Andrew Babcock, Brittany Loftus, Michael Murray, Tim Shermak, Steve Zurek Absent: Rob Bisceglie and Student Liaison Nathan Devitt

A. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board and audience said the Pledge of Allegiance.

B. Additions or Changes to the Agenda

None

C. Communications

None

II. Visitor Input

Mr. David Puleski, Village Trustee, thanked the Board of Education for their hard work. He also shared that the Village of Roselle has a goal for 2020-2021 to find community driven goals and priorities and invited District 12 to participate.

III. Superintendent Report

Superintendent Kaczkowski shared that she would not be reporting tonight but did share a run through of tonight's meeting.

Dr. Kaczkowski turned the meeting over to Student Liaison Ava Thanos for her report.

Ava Thanos shared the following with the Board:

- IAR Testing went well at Roselle Middle School
- The Spring Fling was successful
- The 8th Grade Class was awarded a "Movie of Choice" by winning the PBIS challenge.

IV. Approve Canvass of Votes from the April 2, 2019 Election

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by Vice-President Zurek that the Board approve the canvass of votes as presented in Exhibit 71A.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Michael Murray, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Andrew Babcock, Brittany

Loftus, Tim Shermak

NAYS: None

ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

V. Election of Temporary Officers

Motion by Secretary Loftus and seconded by Member Murray that the Board appoint Dr. Melissa Kaczkowski as President Pro Tem and Mrs. JoAnn Dumelle as Secretary Pro Tem.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Brittany Loftus, Michael Murray, Blythe Cammy, Andrew Babcock, Tim

Shermak, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

Mr. Andrew Babcock, Mrs. Brittany Loftus and Mr. Tim Shermak were attending their last meeting as Board of Education members. Dr. Kaczkowski thanked them for the service and shared a departing gift with them.

VI. Oath of Office

President Cammy read the Oath of Office along with incoming Board of Education member Tim Layer.

VII. Board Reorganization

A. Roll Call of Board Members

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: Blythe Cammy, Tim

Layer, Michael Murray, Steve Zurek

Absent: Rob Bisceglie

B. Establishment of Term of Office

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by Vice-President Zurek that the Board establish a one year term of office for President, Vice-President and Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Michael Murray, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

C. Election of Officers

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Member Murray that Blythe Cammy be named President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Michael Murray, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by Member Layer that Steve Zurek be named Vice-President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Michael Murray, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

Motion by President Cammy and seconded by Member Murray that Tim Layer be named Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, Michael Murray, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

VIII. Approval of Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Vice-President Zurek and seconded by Secretary Layer to approve the following agenda items as submitted:

- A. Regular Meeting Minutes for March 19, 2019
- B. Closed Session Minutes for March 19, 2019
- C. Special Meeting Minutes for April 5, 2019
- D. Special Meeting Minutes for April 10, 2019
- E. Accounts Payable for April, 2019
- F. Treasurer's Report for June, 2018
- G. Personnel

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Tim Layer, Blythe Cammy, Michael Murray

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None The motion carried.

IX. Action Items

A. Approve the Board Meeting Dates for 2019-2020

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by Secretary Layer that the Board approve the regular meeting dates for 2019-2020 as presented in Exhibit 71B.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Michael Murray, Tim Layer, Blythe Cammy, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

B. Approve the Comprehensive District Plan

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by President Cammy that the Board approve the initiation of the Comprehensive District Plan.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Michael Murray, Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

C. Adopt the Resolution Ratifying the Proposed Amendments to the NDSEC Articles of Joint Agreement

Motion by Member Murray and seconded by Secretary Layer that the Board adopt the Resolution Ratifying the Proposed Amendments to the NDSEC Articles of Joint Agreement as presented in Exhibit 71C.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Michael Murray, Tim Layer, Blythe Cammy, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

X. Visitor Input

Community Member, Paula Winfield asked when the 2019-2020 School Calendar would be shared with the community. District 12 has not released it yet because it has not been approved by the Regional Office of Education.

XI. Closed Session

Motion by President Cammy and seconded by Secretary Layer that the Board adjourn to Closed Session at 7:23 p.m., pursuant to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(2) Collective Bargaining, with no action to follow.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, Tim Layer, Michael Murray, Steve Zurek

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

XII.	Return	to O	pen Se	ssion

Motion by President Cammy and seconded by Vice-President Zurek that the Board return to Open Session at 7:58 p.m.

XIII. Adjournment

Motion by President Cammy to adjourn the meeting at 8:00 p.m.

On a voice vote, all members voted aye.

 Blythe Cammy, President
 Tim Layer, Secretary

Date Approved: May 21, 2019